Lake Malawi/Nyasa, East Africa

Lake Malawi is also internationally known as Lake Niassa, Lake Nyasa and Lake Nyaza

Lake Malawi is six and a half times as long as it is wide: the long thin shape is typical of those in the East African Rift Valley. 

Lake Malawi is the third largest lake in Africa after Lake Victoria and Lake Tanganyika.

Lake Malawi National Park is recognised by UNESCO as being an outstanding example of biological evolution. 

Lake Malawi fills an enormous trough, also known as a graben, in the 6,000km long East African Rift System.

There are roughly 850 species of cichlid in Lake Malawi, all of which originated from a common ancestor thousands of years ago. 

Show the Lake Malawi/Nyasa, East Africa summary

Control panel

View images from...

The appearance of the landscape changes depending on your altitude. Using the options below, please choose a cruising altitude to explore from.

Contribute to Hidden Journeys

We invite you to help us make Hidden Journeys as rich as possible. If you have an image that you believe is suitable for this site then please click below to submit it to the site.

Add your image

Lake Malawi at 9,000m - The lake's natural resources


Lake Malawi at ground level - the Lake's cichlids

Return to the top

© 2017 Royal Geographical Society (with IBG)