The Caucasus

The Caucasus Mountains are the highest mountains in Europe and form the continental dividing line between Europe and Asia.

Mount Elbrus is the highest mountain in Europe, standing 5,642m above sea level. It is a dormant stratovolcano that last erupted 2,000 years ago.

The Caucasus is home to the greatest density of distinct languages anywhere in the world; some 50 different languages are spoken here.
Around 15 million people live in the Caucasus region, an area 477,500km², roughly the size of Germany and Austria combined.

The Soviet Union took control of the Caucasus after the fall of the Russian Empire in the 1920s and divided the region into republics.

When the Soviet Union collapsed in 1991, three Caucasian republics became the independent nations of Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan.
Show the The Caucasus summary

Control panel

View images from...

The appearance of the landscape changes depending on your altitude. Using the options below, please choose a cruising altitude to explore from.

Contribute to Hidden Journeys

We invite you to help us make Hidden Journeys as rich as possible. If you have an image that you believe is suitable for this site then please click below to submit it to the site.

Add your image

Flying at 13,000m - The bridge between continents


Flying at 4,000m - The "mountain of languages"


Flying at ground level - Turbulence in the region

Return to the top

© 2017 Royal Geographical Society (with IBG)